The voting took place last Wednesday for the Irish Greyhounds of the Year and there are few surprises in the list of nominations.

The format is similar to recent years with three nominations for each category but the winners will not be revealed until the night of the Awards Function.

This year’s Greyhound Awards will again be staged at the Killashee Hotel, Naas on Sunday, March 24th with the gala kicking off at 5pm. Tickets can be purchased for €40 per person and €15 for children.

BoyleSports Irish Derby winner Ballyanne Sim is one of the nominations for the Dog of Year and the other contenders are Cabra Hurricane and Slippy Cian.

Similarly, Sporting Press Irish Oaks winner Jaytee Jordan is one of the contenders for the Bitch of Year and she is joined by Ballymac Arminta and Vancouver.


Dog of Year

Ballyanne Sim, Cabra Hurricane, Slippy Cian.

Bitch of Year

Ballymac Arminta, Jaytee Jordan, Vancouver.

Sprinter of Year

Ardnasool Jet, Broadstrand Kiwi, Rosbirr Ranger.

Top Stayer

Are Nagini, Ballykett Beauty, Javielenko.

Brood Bitch of Year

Ballydoyle Honey, Global Liberty, Sizzling Sarah.

Stud Dog of Year

Droopys Jet, Kinloch Brae, Laughil Blake.

Future Star

Ballymac Anton, Killer Bee, Sliabh Liag.